WICB Junior Award for Excellence in Research

About the Award

A woman or non-binary person in an early stage of their career (within seven years of appointment to an independent position at the nomination deadline) who is making exceptional scientific contributions to cell biology, is developing a strong independent research program and exhibits the potential for continuing at a high level of scientific endeavor and leadership.

Award Details

The winner receives a plaque, $1,000, meeting registration, and gives a Minisymposium talk at Cell Bio 2022.

Who is Eligible

Candidates may be nominated more than once, and members of the WICB Committee are not eligible. Nominators, self-nominators and candidates must be ASCB members.

How to Apply


Applications are closed for 2022. Award winners will be announced on September 1, 2022.

If you are nominating another person please obtain all required documentation from the candidate prior to proceeding.

  • A biosketch that follows the NIH (or similar format) no longer than 5 pages.
  • A narrative statement of no more than 2 pages that addresses how the candidate’s, achievements have contributed to the advancement of at least 3 of the 5 core elements of the ASCB mission statement, with one of the elements addressing the nature of this award.
  • 2 letters of support, neither longer than 2 pages. At least one of the supporting letters must be from someone who is neither a collaborator, former trainee, nor mentor of the candidate; and who is at a different institution than the candidate.

Deadline: May 16, 2022

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee’s professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Community Code of Conduct and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA https://sfdora.org/) , the ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its award candidates. The ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

All Recent Awardee Photos

Award Winners

  • 2022—Shirin Bahmanyar - Junior
  • 2021—Vaishnavi Ananthanarayanan - Junior
  • 2020—Prachee Avasthi - Junior
  • 2019—Sabine Petry - Junior
  • 2018—Sophie Dumont - Junior
  • 2017—Julie Canman - Junior
  • 2016—Barbara Mellone - Junior
  • 2015—Mihaela Serpe - Junior
  • 2014—Valentina Greco - Junior
  • 2013—Samara Reck-Peterson - Junior
  • 2012—Sophie G. Martin - Junior
  • 2011—Melissa May Rolls - Junior
  • 2010—Magdalena Bezanilla - Junior
  • 2009—Yukiko M. Yamashita - Junior
  • 2008—Coleen Murphy - Junior
  • 2007—Christine Jacobs-Wagner - Junior
  • 2006—Suzanne Eaton - Junior
  • 2006—Karen Oegema - Junior
  • 2005—Rebecca Heald - Junior
  • 2004—Inke Nathke - Junior
  • 2003—Claire Walczak - Junior
  • 2002—Clare Waterman-Storer - Junior
  • 2001—Laura Machesky - Junior
  • 2000—Linda Hicke - Junior
  • 1999—Yixian Zheng - Junior
  • 1998—Daphne Preuss - Junior
  • 1997—Lorraine Pillus - Junior
  • 1996—Sarah C. R. Elgin - Senior
  • 1996—Susan L. Forsburg - Junior
  • 1995—Trina Schroer - Junior
  • 1994—Julie Theriot - Junior
  • 1993—Cory Abate - Junior
  • 1992—Kathy Foltz - Junior
  • 1991—Alison Adams - Junior
  • 1991—Elizabeth Taparowsky - Junior
  • 1990—Sandra Schmid - Junior
  • 1989—Jeanne Lawrence - Junior
  • 1987—Vassie Ware - Junior
  • 1986—Mary Beckerle - Junior