Public Service Award

About the Award

The Society’s honor for national leadership supporting biomedical research is selected by the ASCB Public Policy Committee. The ASCB Public Service Award recognizes outstanding public service in support of biomedical research or advocacy of sound research policies. The nominator or self-nominator must be an ASCB member, but the award winner need not be an ASCB member or a scientist.

Award Details

The winner will be featured in a video at the ASCB|EMBO Meeting Keynote and receives a certificate.

Who is Eligible

An individual who has demonstrated outstanding national leadership in support of biomedical research or the advocacy of sound research policies. Nominators and self-nominators must be ASCB members. The award winner may, but need not, be a scientist.

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee’s professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Community Code of Conduct and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA , the ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its award candidates. The ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

How to Apply


Applications are closed for 2022. Award winners will be announced on September 1, 2022.

If you are nominating another person please obtain all required documentation from the candidate prior to proceeding.

  • A biosketch that follows the NIH (or similar format) no longer than 5 pages.
  • A narrative statement of no more than 2 pages that addresses how your, or your nominee’s, achievements have contributed to the advancement of at least 3 of the 5 core elements of the ASCB mission statement, with one of the elements addressing the nature of this award.
  • No more than 2 letters of support, none longer than 2 pages. At least one of the supporting letters must be from someone who is neither a collaborator, former trainee, nor mentor of the candidate; and who is at a different institution than the candidate.

Deadline: May 16, 2022

All Recent Awardee Photos

Award Winners

  • 2021—Donna Ginther
  • 2021—Raynard Kington
  • 2020—Anthony Fauci
  • 2019—James F. Deatherage
  • 2018—Senator Roy Blunt (R-Mo)
  • 2018—Representative Tom Cole (R-OK)
  • 2016—Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
  • 2014—Representative Rush Holt (D-NJ)
  • 2013—Jeremy Berg
  • 2012—Keith Yamamoto
  • 2010—Tom Pollard
  • 2009—Larry Goldstein
  • 2008—Maxine Singer
  • 2007—Representative Michael N. Castle (R-DE)
  • 2006—Barbara Forrest and Ken Miller
  • 2005—Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA)
  • 2004—Elizabeth Blackburn
  • 2003—Paul Berg
  • 2002—Matthew Meselson
  • 2001—Christopher Reeve
  • 2000—Donna Shalala, US Health & Human Services Secretary
  • 1999—Harold Varmus
  • 1998—J. Michael Bishop
  • 1997—Representative George Gekas (R-PA)
  • 1996—Marc Kirschner
  • 1995—Representative John Porter (R-IL)
  • 1994—Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)