MBoC Paper of the Year

About the Award

Chosen by MBoC Associate Editors, the first author of the paper judged to be the best of the year, from June to May. Nominators must be ASCB members.

Who is Eligible

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee's professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Anti-Harassment Policy and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

How to Apply

There is no application process. Papers are chosen by MBoC Associate Editors.

Award Winners

  • 2018—Jian Zhang
  • 2017—Nick Davenport
  • 2016—Lorna E. Young and Ernest G. Heimsath
  • 2015—Patrick R. O’Neill
  • 2014—Sebastian Mana-Capelli
  • 2013—Brittany J. Belin
  • 2012—Thomas W. Marshall
  • 2011—Nicholas O. Deakin
  • 2010—Abigail S. Haka
  • 2009—Xue Li Guan, Cleiton M. Souza and Harald Pichler
  • 2008—Ekaterina Grishchuk
  • 2007—Ronald Lebofsky
  • 2006—Melissa Gardner
  • 2005—Atsuko Uchida
  • 2004—Keith Kozminski
  • 2003—Michael Whitfield
  • 2002—Sandra Kneissel
  • 2001—Takayuki Sekito
  • 2000—Gregory Pazour
  • 1999—Han Htun
  • 1998—Owais Saife
  • 1997—Robbin L. DeBiasio
  • 1996—Gretchen L. Kiser