Keith R. Porter Lecture

About the Award

This lecture, named in memory of Keith R. Porter, will be presented at Cell Bio 2023–An ASCB|EMBO Meeting by an outstanding and innovative leader at the forefront of cell biology, who is actively contributing fundamental new knowledge to our understanding of cell biology.

The recipient will receive complimentary meeting registration as well as funding for travel, lodging, and meals.

Who is Eligible

This award is open to scientists of all nations, races, genders, ages, orientations, etc., as we affirm that diversity in thought, approach, and background is a central tenet in the free and open pursuit of science.

How to Apply

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS: If you are nominating another person please obtain all required documentation from the candidate prior to proceeding.

  • A biosketch that follows the NIH (or similar format) no longer than 5 pages.
  • A narrative statement of no more than 2 pages that addresses how the candidate’s, achievements have contributed to the advancement of at least 3 of the 5 core elements of the ASCB mission statement, with one of the elements addressing the nature of this award.
  • 2 letters of support, neither longer than 2 pages. At least one of the supporting letters must be from someone who is neither a collaborator, former trainee, nor mentor of the candidate; and who is at a different institution than the candidate.

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee’s professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Community Code of Conduct and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA , the ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its award candidates. The ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

All Recent Awardee Photos

Award Winners

  • 2022—Juan Bonifacino
  • 2021—Rebecca W. Heald
  • 2020—Tony Hyman
  • 2019—Julie A. Theriot
  • 2018—Ruth Lehmann
  • 2017—Scott Emr
  • 2016—Eva Nogales
  • 2015—Jonathan S. Weissman
  • 2014—Michael P. Sheetz
  • 2013—Timothy J. Mitchison
  • 2012—Ari Helenius
  • 2011—Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz
  • 2010—Tom Rapoport
  • 2009—Ronald Vale
  • 2008—Joseph Gall
  • 2007—Lucille Shapiro
  • 2006—Joseph Schlessinger
  • 2005—Randy Schekman
  • 2004—Edward Salmon
  • 2003—Roger Tsien
  • 2002—Eric Wieschaus
  • 2001—Susan Lindquist
  • 2000—Joan Massague
  • 1999—Elizabeth Blackburn
  • 1998—James Spudich
  • 1997—Pietro DeCamilli
  • 1996—Elaine Fuchs
  • 1995—Leland Hartwell
  • 1994—James Darnell
  • 1993—Masatoshi Takeichi
  • 1992—Joan Steitz
  • 1991—Christiane Nusslein-Volhard
  • 1990—Kai Simons
  • 1989—Thomas Pollard
  • 1988—Marc Kirschner
  • 1987—Michael S. Brown and Joseph L. Goldstein
  • 1986—Gunter Blobel
  • 1985—John Heuser
  • 1984—David D. Sabatini
  • 1983—J. Richard McIntosh
  • 1982—Lewis G. Tilney