E.B. Wilson Medal

About the Award

The E.B. Wilson Medal is presented to distinguished researchers for their far-reaching contributions to cell biology over a lifetime in science.

Award Details

In addition to the medal, the recipient will give the E.B. Wilson Lecture at Cell Bio 2023 - An ASCB|EMBO Meeting, and will receive complimentary meeting registration and funding for travel, lodging, and meals.

Who is Eligible

An individual who has demonstrated significant and far-reaching contributions to cell biology over a lifetime in science. Nominators and nominees must be ASCB members.

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee’s professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Community Code of Conduct and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA https://sfdora.org/) , the ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its award candidates. The ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

How to Apply

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS: If you are nominating another person please obtain all required documentation from the candidate prior to proceeding.

  • A biosketch that follows the NIH (or similar format) no longer than 5 pages.
  • A narrative statement of no more than 2 pages that addresses how the candidate’s, achievements have contributed to the advancement of at least 3 of the 5 core elements of the ASCB mission statement, with one of the elements addressing the nature of this award.
  • 2 letters of support, neither longer than 2 pages. At least one of the supporting letters must be from someone who is neither a collaborator, former trainee, nor mentor of the candidate; and who is at a different institution than the candidate.

All Recent Awardee Photos

Award Winners

  • 2022—Donald Cleveland
  • 2021—Pietro De Camilli
  • 2020—Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz
  • 2019—Peter Devreotes
  • 2018—Barbara Meyer
  • 2017—Ulrich Hartl
  • 2017—Arthur Horwich
  • 2016—Mina Bissell
  • 2015—Elaine V. Fuchs
  • 2014—William. R. Brinkley, John E. Heuser, and Peter Satir
  • 2013—John R. Pringle
  • 2012—Susan L. Lindquist
  • 2011—Gary G. Borisy, J. Richard McIntosh, and James A. Spudich
  • 2010—Stuart Kornfeld, James Rothman, and Randy Schekman
  • 2009—Peter Walter
  • 2008—Martin Chalfie and Roger Tsien
  • 2007—Richard O. Hynes and Zena Werb
  • 2007—Joel Rosenbaum
  • 2005—Joan Steitz
  • 2004—Thomas Pollard
  • 2003—Marc Kirschner
  • 2002—Avram Hershko and Alexander Varshavsk
  • 2001—Elizabeth Blackburn
  • 2000—Walter Neupert and Gottfried Schatz
  • 1999—Edwin Taylor
  • 1998—James Darnell and Sheldon Penman
  • 1997—John C. Gerhart
  • 1996—Donald D. Brown
  • 1995—Bruce Nicklas
  • 1994—Barbara Gibbons and Ian Gibbons
  • 1993—Hans Ris
  • 1992—Shinya Inoue
  • 1991—S. Jonathan Singer
  • 1990—Morris Karnovsky
  • 1989—Christian de Duve
  • 1988—Elizabeth Hay
  • 1987—Marilyn Farquhar
  • 1986—Gunter Blobel and D. Sabatini
  • 1985—H. Swift
  • 1984—H. Eagle and T. Puck
  • 1983—Joseph Gall and H. Huxley
  • 1982—C. Leblond and A. Novikoff
  • 1981—Daniel Mazia, George Palade, and Keith Porter