Mentoring Keynote

About the Award

The Mentoring Keynote Lecture is given to an individual who exemplifies mentoring by their impact on the training of scientists and scholars who belong to underrepresented groups, particularly racial and ethnic minorities. The awardee is selected by the ASCB MAC. Note: Current members of the MAC are not eligible.

Award Details

The winner is presented a plaque and will deliver the Mentoring Keynote at Cell Bio Virtual 2020-An Online ASCB|EMBO Meeting. Allowable expenses are covered by a grant from the NIH.

Who is Eligible

Any ASCB member may nominate an individual (ASCB members and non-members are eligible) for the Mentoring Keynote. ASCB members may also self-nominate for the award.

Nominees for and recipients of ASCB honorific awards and prizes are expected to exemplify and to continue to exemplify the highest standards of professional conduct. Letters of support should explicitly address whether a nominee's professional conduct over their career embodies the principles and expectations noted in ASCB’s Mission Statement, the Anti-Harassment Policy and the Workforce Diversity Statement.

As a founder of the Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA , the ASCB does not use journal impact factors or other journal-based metrics in the evaluation process for its award candidates. The ASCB looks at an individual’s research contributions and impact on the field, rather than the prestige of the journals where work is published.

How to Apply

Provide a nomination package that includes a CV and a letter describing the mentoring support of underrepresented minority students and scientists.


Nominations are closed for 2020.


Award Winners

  • 2020—MariaElena B. Zavala, California State University, Northridge
  • 2019—David Asai, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • 2017—Isiah M. Warner, Louisiana State University
  • 2016—Tracy L. Johnson, University of California, Los Angeles
  • 2015—JoAnn Trejo, University of California, San Diego
  • 2014—Renato Aguilera, University of Texas, El Paso
  • 2013—Lovell P. Jones, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • 2012—Winston Anderson, Howard University
  • 2011—James H. Wyche, Howard University
  • 2010—Isiah M. Warner, Louisiana State University
  • 2009—Lydia Villa-Komarof, Cytonome, Inc.
  • 2008—Clifton Poodry, National Institute of General Medical Sciences, NIH
  • 2007—Elma Gonzalez, University of California, Los Angeles