Fourteen scientists elected to 2021 cohort of ASCB Fellows

ASCB Fellows

The American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) is pleased to present its cohort of 14 new Fellows for 2021.

“ASCB Fellows represent not only top-performing scientists who have contributed significantly to cell biology and to the community of scientists studying the cell, but also individuals who have demonstrated throughout their careers their commitment to ASCB’s mission,” said Kevin Wilson, Interim Co-CEO of ASCB.

Election as a Fellow of ASCB is an honor bestowed upon ASCB members by their peers. The list of approved Fellow nominees is reviewed and approved by the ASCB Council. The new cohort of ASCB Fellows will be formally recognized before the keynote at the 2021 Cell Bio Virtual meeting online in December.

  • Suresh Alahari, Louisiana State University
  • Derek Applewhite, Reed College
  • Daniel Colón-Ramos, Yale University
  • Pierre Coulombe, University of Michigan
  • Jennifer DeLuca, Colorado State University
  • Andrew Ewald, Johns Hopkins University
  • Primal de Lanerolle, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Ruth Lehmann, Whitehead Institute, MIT
  • Lee Ligon, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Berl Oakley, University of Kansas
  • Carole Parent, University of Michigan
  • Thomas Surrey, Francis Crick Institute
  • Yukiko Yamashita, Whitehead Institute, MIT
  • Alpha Yap, University of Queensland

(Fellows are pictured in order from the top left.)

About the Author:

Mary Spiro is ASCB's Strategic Communications Manager.