ASCB Names 18 Members as Its 2020 Fellows Cohort

Screen Shot 2020-09-24 at 8.31.02 AM


The ASCB Council has named the 2020 cohort of Fellows, ASCB members selected for their lifetime achievements in advancing cell biology. Eighteen members were chosen for their outstanding contributions to the field of cell biology and to the community of cell biologists through their service to the Society. The ASCB Fellows program is committed to recognizing the breadth and diversity of the Society’s membership. Toward this end, Fellows are nominated by their peers or through self-nomination, followed by evaluation and selection by a Fellows Nomination Review Committee. The list of selected Fellow nominees is reviewed and approved by the ASCB Council. The ASCB Fellows will be formally recognized at Cell Bio Virtual 2020–An Online ASCB|EMBO Meeting in December.

Tamas Balla, National Institutes of Health
Gaudenz Danuser, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Robert Farese, Harvard University
Celia Garcia, University of Sao Paulo
Robert Horvitz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Yishi Jin, University of California, San Diego
Caroline Kane, University of California, Berkeley
Frederick Maxfield, Cornell University
Mark Peifer, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
David Pellman, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Douglas Robinson, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
James Rothman, Yale University
Greenfield Sluder, University of Massachusetts
Anne Spang, Biozentrum, University of Basel
JoAnn Trejo, University of California, San Diego
James Vigoreaux, University of Vermont
Tobias Walther, Harvard University
Ora Weisz, University of Pittsburgh

About the Author:

Mary Spiro is ASCB's Strategic Communications Manager.