COMPASS Committee Liaison: Christina Szalinski

Become a COMPASS Associate

COMPASS is now looking for applications from enthusiastic graduate students and postdocs. A pplications are accepted on a rolling basis, and reviewed when quorum is reached or after quarterly deadlines (January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1), whichever comes first. Applicants should submit a CV and a letter of intent to the COMPASS Committee Liaison stating why they are interested in committee membership, what they have to offer, what issues they would like to focus on and why.

Applications will be reviewed by COMPASS and membership decisions will be sent by email in a timely manner. All successful applicants will join COMPASS as associate members, pending approval of COMPASS Chairs. Associates will be encouraged to join one or more subcommittees and actively participate in all COMPASS initiatives.

Ahead of the May and December council meetings, Subcommittee Chairs will submit a list of associate members who they feel have contributed sufficiently to be considered for full member status. All full members of COMPASS must be approved by the COMPASS Chairs and the ASCB Executive Committee. Associates who receive approval will become full members of COMPASS in May or December.

For more information about COMPASS structure, read the bylaws.

Call for ASCB Ambassadors

The Committee for Postdocs and Students (COMPASS) of the ASCB is happy to announce that the revamped ASCB Ambassador Program is looking for new members.

ASCB ambassadors are the local voice of the Society, promoting ASCB events such as the Annual Meeting and opportunities such as awards and scholarships. Moreover, ambassadors will be involved in future outreach activities and surveys sponsored by the ASCB. We need enthusiastic ASCB members who can spread the news through personal contacts and through their institutional e-mail lists, graduate student and postdoc organizations, and social media. It is a great way to participate in your scientific society and is also a leadership opportunity. We currently have 52 ambassadors around the world, and you can be the next one!

Any current ASCB member can be an ambassador (although our preference is to have only one ambassador per academic department/subdivision). The list of current ambassadors can be found below. You may sign up to be an ambassadors by emailing Christina Szalinski. Please include your name, full affiliation, and a short paragraph explaining why you want to be an ambassador.

List of Current Ambassadors

  • Ishmail Abdus-Saboor – Cornell Univ
  • Abdulbaki Agbas -Kansas City Univ Med/Biosciences
  • Robert Bacallao – Indiana Univ/Dept Med
  • Adriana Bankston – University of Louisville
  • Janice Blum – Indiana Univ Sch Med
  • Julie Brill – Hosp Sick Children
  • Anthony Brown – Ohio State Univ
  • Paula Bubulya – Wright State University
  • Abigail Buchwalter – Salk Inst Biological Studies
  • Christoph Burckhardt – Harvard Med Sch
  • Rabab Charafeddine – Albert Einstein Coll Med
  • Lena Diaw – NHLBI/NIH
  • Ivanka Dilova – Univ California-Davis
  • Mirvat El-Sibai – Lebanese American Univ
  • Rafael Garcia-Mata – Univ Toledo
  • Alana Gray – Louisiana State Univ Health – Shreveport
  • Peter Gunning – Univ New South Wales
  • Tony Harris – Univ Toronto
  • Krisztina Hegyi – Univ Cambridge
  • Nolan Hoffman – Garvan Inst Medical Research
  • Aron Jaffe – Novartis Insts BioMed Res
  • Elavarasi Joseph – Rensselaer Polytechnic Inst
  • Donald Kaiser – Nitto Denko Technical Corp.
  • Victor Li – Harvard Med Sch
  • Szecheng Lo – Chang Gung Univ
  • Lena Long – Med Coll Wisconsin
  • G.W. Gant Luxton – Univ Minnesota
  • Helder Maiato – Univ Porto
  • Ichiro Maruyama – Okinawa Inst Science & Technol
  • Christopher Maxwell – Univ British Columbia
  • J. Richard McIntosh – Univ Colorado
  • Marcia Miller – Beckman Res Inst City of Hope
  • Yuko Miyamoto – Elon Univ
  • Tomika Moody – Georgia State Univ
  • Carolyn Moores – Birkbeck Coll
  • Anthony Moss – Auburn Univ
  • Mary Munson – Univ Massachusetts Med Sch
  • Alana O’Reilly – Fox Chase Cancer Ctr
  • Burak Ozkosem – McGill University
  • Leocadia Paliulis – Bucknell Univ
  • Clem Penny – Univ Witwatersrand Med Sch
  • Ileng Ramachandran – Cold Spring Harbor Lab
  • Jose Rapanan – Midwestern Univ
  • Lovett Reddick – Univ Texas Southwestern Med Ctr
  • Ruth Ritter – Univ Houston
  • Melissa Rolls – Pennsylvania State Univ
  • Anne Rosenwald – Georgetown Univ
  • Partha Roy – Univ Pittsburgh
  • Juha Saarikangas – ETH Zurich
  • Madhurima Saha – University of Florida
  • Uma Sankar – Univ Louisville
  • Michael Schrader – Univ Exeter
  • Jeffrey Sfakianos
  • Michael Shelanski – Columbia Univ
  • Beate Sodeik – Hannover Medical School
  • Wenxia Song – Univ Maryland
  • Elias Spiliotis – Drexel Univ
  • Matthew Stroud – Univ California-San Diego
  • Lloyd Trotman – Cold Spring Harbor Lab
  • Daniel Ungar – Univ York
  • Ferran Valderrama – St George’s Univ London
  • Francoise Van Der Goot – EPFL
  • Patricia Wadsworth – Univ Massachusetts
  • Claire Walczak – Indiana Univ
  • Maureen Wirschell – Univ Mississippi Med Ctr
  • Shan Yan – Univ North Carolina-Charlotte
  • Jordan Yaron
  • Ronen Zaidel-Bar – Mechanobiology Inst Singapore
  • Jennifer Zhang – Duke Univ Med Ctr
  • Dennis Zimmermann – Univ Chicago