Apply Now

Who is Eligible:

An individual who has demonstrated innovative and sustained contributions to science education, with particular emphasis on the broad local, regional, and/or national impact of the nominee’s activities. Nominators and self-nominators must be ASCB members, but the candidate and support letter authors need not be.

How to Apply:

Provide a letter of nomination, two letters of support, and a CV. All nominations will be keep for three award cycles. Nominators will be asked to update their previous nomination if they want to and/or there are new credentials or supporting data to add.


The winner is presented a plaque and will give remarks at the ASCB/EMBO Meeting. Meeting registration, economy airfare, and up to three nights hotel to attend the ASCB/EMBO Meeting are paid.


May 15



Award Winners

2018 – Erin Dolan

2017 – Kimberly Tanner

2016 – David Lopatto

2015 – Deborah Harmon-Hines

2014 – Edison Fowlks

2013 – Deborah Allen

2012 – L.C. (Cam) Cameron

2011 – Peter Bruns

2010 – BioQUEST Curriculum Consortium

2009 – Manuel Berriozábal and Toby Horn

2008 – Wm. David Burns and Karen K. Oates

2007 – Patricia J. Pukkila

2006 – A. Malcolm Campbell and Sarah C.R. Elgin

2005 – Samuel Silverstein

2004 – William Wood

2003 – Nancy Hutchison

2002 – Sandra Mayrand

2001 – David Bynum

2000 – Virginia Shepherd

1999 – Eugenie Scott

1998 – Robert DeHaan