Who is Eligible:

An outstanding scientist who has served as an independent investigator for no more than seven years as of April 1.

How to Apply:

Provide a nominating package that includes a CV, brief research statement, nominating letter, and no more than three letters of support (at least one of which must come from outside the nominee’s institution). Nominators and self-nominators must be ASCB members.


The winner is presented a plaque and a monetary prize and will speak in a Minisymposium at the Annual Meeting. Expenses to attend the Annual Meeting are paid.


April 1 (Electronic submission here. Direct questions to Christina Szalinski)

Past Awardees

2016 – Valentina Greco
2016 – Bo Huang
2015 – Vladimir Denic
2014 – Manuel Thery
2013 – Douglas B. Weibel
2012 – Iain Cheeseman
2012 – Gia Voeltz
2011 – Maxence V. Nachury
2010 – Anna Kashina
2009 – Martin W. Hetzer
2008 – Arshad B. Desai
2007 – Abby Felicia Dernburg
2006 – Karsten Weis
2005 – Eva Nogales
2004 – No award this year
2003 – Frank Gertler
2002 – Kathleen Collins and Benjamin Cravatt
2001 – Daphne Preuss
2000 – Erin O’Shea
1999 – Raymond Deshaies

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
ASCB Webmaster

The American Society for Cell Biology is a professional society that was founded in 1960. Its mission statement says: ASCB is an inclusive community of biologists studying the cell, the fundamental unit of life.

Comments are closed for this post.