Chang, Murray Run for ASCB President

The two nominees for ASCB President-Elect are Fred Chang, University of California, San Francisco, and Sandra Murray, University of Pittsburgh. The selected candidate will serve on the Society’s Executive Committee as President-Elect in 2023, President in 2024, and Past-President in 2025.

Also on the ballot are eight candidates running for four at-large Council seats: Derek Applewhite, Reed College; Elizabeth Chen, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Maitreyi Das, University of Tennessee; William Earnshaw, University of Edinburgh; Chantell Evans, Duke University; Christian E. Gonzalez-Billaut, Universidad de Chile; Lee Ligon, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; and Gulcin Pekkurnaz, University of California, San Diego. The top four vote recipients will start three-year terms on January 1, 2023.

The goal of the Nominating Committee was to present a slate of candidates whose strong commitment to the importance of cell science, to improving education and training, and to improving the Society’s progress in diversity, equity, and inclusion, which will guide the ASCB into the future.

ASCB will email a link to the Society’s electronic ballot, which includes candidate biographies, to regular, postdoc, graduate student, educator, and emeritus members on April 1. The election will close on April 30, and results will be announced shortly thereafter. Please contact the ASCB if you do not receive the email.

About the Author:

This post was collaboratively written by several ASCB staff members.