Nogales voted 2020 president; four new council members chosen

Eva Nogales Photo by Amparo Garrido

Eva Nogales Photo by Amparo Garrido

Eva Nogales was elected by ASCB members to serve as ASCB President in 2020. Nogales is a Senior Faculty Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology at the University of California, Berkeley. She will serve as President-Elect on the Executive Committee in 2019.


Others elected to council include:

  • Anna Huttenlocher, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Karen Oegema, University of California, San Diego, and Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
  • Omar Quintero, University of Richmond
  • Alejandro Sánchez-Alvarado, Stowers Institute for Medical Research and Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Each member of Council will serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2019.

About the Author: