The Council Executive Committee has named a search committee to identify the next Executive Director of the ASCB. Thoru Pederson, University of Massachusetts Medical School, will chair the committee, and he will be joined by Arshad Desai, University of California, San Diego; Cynthia Godes, ASCB Senior Director of Finance and Administration; Tom Misteli, National Cancer Institute; Jodi Nunnari, University of California, Davis; Ron Vale, University of California, San Francisco/ HHMI; and Xiaowei Zhuang, Harvard University/HHMI. ASCB President Shirley Tilghman, Princeton University; 2016 ASCB President Elect Peter Walter, University of California, San Francisco/HHMI; and 2017 ASCB President-Elect Designate Pietro Di Camilli, Yale University/HHMI, will serve as ex officio members of the committee. “I am honored to serve, especially with such a stellar committee,” said Pederson.

The committee will be working this fall to generate and vet a pool of candidates for the position of Executive Director. Suggestions of potential candidates and applications for the position are welcomed and should be submitted to Cynthia Godes ( Once finalists are identified, they will be interviewed by the search committee and the ASCB Executive Committee, who will submit a recommendation to the full Council for approval.

ASCB’s current Executive Director, Stefano Bertuzzi, announced on September 9 that he will be leaving at the end of his contract after the ASCB Annual Meeting in San Diego this December to become Chief Executive Officer of the American Society for Microbiology. Godes will serve as Interim Executive Director after Bertuzzi’s departure and until a new Executive Director takes the helm.

Comments are closed for this post.