Apply Now

The Award was established with member donations in memory of Merton Bernfield.

Who is Eligible:

An outstanding graduate student or postdoctoral fellow (at the time of nomination) who has excelled in research.

How to Apply:

Provide a one-page research statement, a CV (including list of publications), a copy of the abstract submitted to the current year’s Annual Meeting, and an advisor’s letter of recommendation. Postdocs may also submit the recommendation of their graduate student advisor. Candidates may apply more than once.


The winner is presented a plaque and $1,000, and will speak at a Minisymposium at the ASCB/EMBO Meeting. Meeting registration, economy airfare, up to 4 nights hotel, and up to 4 days per diem to attend the ASCB/EMBO Meeting are paid.


Deadline July 15

Past Awardees

2018 – Kelsie Eichel
2017 – Lawrence Kazak
2016 – Kara McKinley
2015 – Shigeki Watanabe
2014 – Prasanna Satpute
2013 – Panteleimon Rompolas
2012 – Ting Chen and Gabriel Lander
2011 – Dylan Tyler Burnette
2010 – Hua Jin
2009 – Chad G. Pearson
2008 – Kenneth Campellone
2007 – Ethan Garner
2006 – Lloyd Trotman
2005 – Stephanie Gupton
2004 – Chun Han
2003 – Erik Dent
2002 – Christina Hull
2001 – Sarah South and James Wohlschlegel