October 2017 Members in the News

Lynne Maquat, University of Rochester biochemist, an ASCB member since 1991, has won the 2018 FASEB Excellence in Science Award. FASEB (the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology) presents the award to women who have made outstanding contributions to the scientific community through research discoveries and training the next generation of scientists. Maquat is best known for unraveling RNA’s role in sickness and in health and as an advocate for young women in the sciences.

Elizabeth Blackburn, winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine and former ASCB president (1998), has been named president of the Salk Institute for Biological Studies. Blackburn is widely known for her work on telomeres and their relationship to aging.

About the Author:

Recommended Articles