Holzbaur, Nogales run for ASCB president; Eight candidates seek council seats

The two nominees for ASCB President-Elect are Erika L.F. Holzbaur, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, and Eva Nogales, University of California, Berkeley/HHMI and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. The elected candidate will serve on the Society’s Executive Committee as President-Elect in 2019, ASCB President in 2020, and Past President in 2021.

Also on the ballot are eight candidates (see below) running for four Council seats. This year the Council, as empowered by the ASCB Bylaws, has segmented the ballot to ensure that one seat is filled by someone whose specialty is education. Those nominees will run against each other for one seat on Council. The top three vote recipients of the other six Council nominees will be elected according to traditional election procedures. All who are elected will start three-year terms on January 1, 2019.

ASCB will email a link to the Society’s electronic ballot and candidate biographies to regular, postdoc, graduate student, educator, and emeritus members on April 2. The election will close on April 30, and results will be announced shortly thereafter.


Want to vote in this year’s election, but haven’t renewed your membership? Renew now to become eligible to vote.

Please contact the ASCB if you do not receive the ballot link via email.


About the Author: