The Chinese Society of Cell and Molecular Biology

http://www.cscmb.org.tw

35 Keyan Rd. Zhunan Town, Miaoli County, Taiwan cscmb.tw@gmail.com ; 886-37-246166 ext. 32105

Cell Biology in Taiwan

In Taiwan, there are approximately 50 Universities and Research Institutes comprised of about 230 departments and divisions with programs related to Cell Biology. To promote researches in the field of cellular and molecular biology in Taiwan, “the Chinese Society of Cell and Molecular Biology (CSCMB)” was instituted in 1989. Currently there are about

7,500 members and the president of the society is Dr. Hsing-Jien Kung the Distinguished

Investigator of National Health Research Institutes in Taiwan.

To promote interactions among researchers, CSCMB holds annual symposia including “Symposium on Recent Advances in Cellular and Molecular Biology” in winter and “Joint Annual Conference of Biomedical Sciences” in spring. Furthermore, CSCMB also holds “Across the Taiwan Strait Symposium on Cell Biology” twice in three years to promote interactions among scientists between Taiwan and Mainland China. In addition, CSCMB has also hosted and participated in “International Congress of Cell Biology” and “Congress of The Asian Pacific Organization for Cell Biology” taking place every four years.

In order to encourage outstanding young researchers, CSCMB provides awards for Ph.D. students and postdoctoral fellows to attend international conferences. In addition, there are two mechanisms to apply grants for international

collaborations from Ministry of Science and Technology in Taiwan. One is providing international transportation and living expenses; the other is a joint proposal, of which cost sharing is based on a cooperative agreement. Basically, researchers abroad need to identify collaborating researchers in Taiwan to apply for such grants. Furthermore, Ministry of Science and Technology in Taiwan also provides opportunities for foreign researchers to visit Taiwan for a period from two months to one year. The collaborating researchers in Taiwan are

responsible for applying for such funding. The officers of CSCMB from various universities and institutes are listed below:

Contact professorE-mail
President
Hsing-Jien Kunghkung@nhri.org.tw
Secretary-general
Hsiu-Ming Shihhmshih@ibms.sinica.edu.tw
Board of Directors
Yi-Ching Wangycw5798@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Huey-Kang Sytwusytwu@ndmctsgh.edu.tw
Ann-Shyn Chiangaschiang@life.nthu.edu.tw
Yi-Chun Wuyichun@ntu.edu.tw
Hua- Lin Wuhalnwu@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Fang-Jen Leefangjen@ntu.edu.tw
Y. Henry Sunmbyhsun@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Jang-Yang Changz10208083@email.ncku.edu.tw
Zee-Fen Changzfchang@ym.edu.tw
Ruey-Hwa  Chenrhchen@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Yi-Juang Chenbmychern@ibms.sinica.edu.tw
Hong-chen Chenhcchen@dragon.nchu.edu.tw
Ming-Jer Tangmjtang1@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Pan-Chyr Yangpcyang@ntu.edu.tw
Jeng-Jiann Chiujjchiu@nhri.org.tw
Yun Yenyyen@tmu.edu.tw
Fu-Tong Liuftliu@ibms.sinica.edu.tw
Shaw-Jenq Tsaiseantsai@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Ming-Derg Laia1211207@mail.ncku.edu.tw
Bon-chu Chungmbchung@sinica.edu.tw