Mary Spiro

ASCB Names 67 Society Fellows for 2017

November 14, 2017

The American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) is pleased to announce the 2017 cohort of ASCB Fellows. The honor of…

Read More

Symposium explores metabolism at the cellular level

November 9, 2017

In Western nations, obesity and diabetes have led to a form of fatty liver disease (FLD) that, in certain individuals,…

Read More

Baumeister, Lippincott-Schwartz, and Voeltz on the structure of the cell

October 30, 2017

Since Robert Hooke first observed cork under a microscope in 1665, cell biologists have been trying to understand the complex…

Read More

The Cell Biology of Neurons Symposium

October 26, 2017

The Cell Biology of Neurons—how these specialized cells develop their branched morphology, how they transport signals, and how neurobiological mutations…

Read More

Neurobiologist, Immunologist honored with 2017 Louis-Jeantet Prize for medicine

October 25, 2017

Neurobiologist Silvia Arber of Switzerland and immunologist Caetano Reis e Sousa of Portugal were named the winners of the 2017…

Read More

Illuminating cell organization with CRISPR-based gene tagging

October 24, 2017

The genome editing tool known as CRISPR/Cas9 has opened many doors for biomedical research by allowing scientists to precisely edit…

Read More

Fred Kavli Keynote Lecture: What a tiny worm taught Cori Bargmann about the brain

October 19, 2017

The microscopic worm Caenorhabditis elegans has a story to tell, and Cori Bargmann wants to hear it. But along the…

Read More

Wang nets ASCB 2017 Early Career Life Scientist Award

October 18, 2017

Meng Wang of Baylor College of Medicine has been named winner of the 2017 ASCB Early Career Life Scientist Award.…

Read More

Kazak named 2017 Bernfield Memorial Award winner

October 17, 2017

Every year, ASCB presents the Merton Bernfield Memorial Award to an outstanding graduate student or postdoctoral member who has excelled…

Read More

Cryo-EM: Nobel Prize-winning technique that's sharpening view into cells

October 6, 2017

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to the team of scientists responsible for developing cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM),…

Read More