Holzbaur, Nogales run for ASCB president; Eight candidates seek council seats
April 2018 Newsletter

The two nominees for ASCB President-Elect are Erika L.F. Holzbaur, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, and Eva Nogales, University of California, Berkeley/HHMI and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. The elected candidate will serve on the Society’s Executive Committee as President-Elect in 2019, ASCB President  … Read more

ASCB council discusses publishing, approves reduced membership rates for scientists from low-income countries
February 2018 Newsletter

The ASCB Council met December 1, 2017, prior to the ASCB|EMBO Meeting in Philadelphia. The day was jam-packed with updates from staff and committee chairs. The morning kicked off with a welcome to new Council members whose terms began January 2018. They included ASCB President-Elect  … Read more

New home, new look for ASCB’s journals
February 2018 Newslettermboc

In late March Molecular Biology of the Cell (MBoC) and CBE—Life Sciences Education (LSE) will move to a new hosting platform. With that change will come new, more modern website designs and new features. One feature that will be introduced with the move is “single  … Read more

In Memoriam: Ian R. Gibbons, 86, dynein discoverer

Ian Gibbons, a long-time visiting scholar at the University of California, Berkeley, died January 30, 2018. He was 86. Gibbons had been a member of ASCB since 1961. He was noted for his discovery of the motor protein dynein.Together with Ron Vale of the University  … Read more

In Memoriam: Uno Lindberg, 78, leading scholar in cell motility

Uno Lindberg, who elucidated the role of the profilin:actin complex in cell motility, died June 30, 2017 at the age of 78, eight years after an unfortunate accident that left him wheelchair-bound and unable to speak or write, but attentive and communicative with a clear  … Read more

In Memoriam: Günter Blobel, 81, Nobel Prize winning molecular biologist
In Memoriam

Günter Blobel, who won the 1999 Nobel Prize in Medicine for discovering protein guidance mechanisms, died February 18, 2018. He was 81. Blobel was a past president of ASCB (1990), a co-recipient of the Society’s prestigious E.B Wilson Medal (1986), and an inaugural ASCB Fellow.  … Read more

In Memoriam: Morris J. Karnovsky, 91, pathology pioneer
In Memoriam

Morris J.  Karnovsky, the Shattuck Professor of Pathological Anatomy, Emeritus at Harvard Medical School, past president of ASCB (1984), winner of the Society’s prestigious E.B. Wilson Medal, and recently named ASCB Fellow, died on January 21, 2018.  He was 91. Karnovsky was noted for numerous  … Read more

The Best of the ASCB Post: 2017 Edition

ASCB strives to offer the best content for our ASCB Post readers: content that is relevant, timely, and compelling. We are proud of the blogs and articles that we present to you each week, written by individual members and staff. This year, the ASCB Post  … Read more

Two Former ASCB Presidents Win Breakthrough Prizes

Two past Presidents of the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB), Don Cleveland and Peter Walter, are among the winners of the 2018 Breakthrough Prize in Biomedical Research. Cleveland, a researcher at the University of California, San Diego, was 2013 ASCB President and Walter, a  … Read more

November/December 2017 Members in the News
November/December 2017 NewsletterMembers in the News

Chantell Evans of the University of Pennsylvania (UPenn) is among 15 exceptional early-career scientists selected by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in the first group of HHMI Hanna Gray Fellows. Recipients can receive up to $1.4 million over eight years to support postdoctoral training through  … Read more