Apply Now

The Society’s highest honor for public service, selected by the ASCB Public Policy Committee. The ASCB Public Service Award recognizes outstanding national leadership in support of biomedical research. The nominator or self-nominator must be an ASCB member, but the award winner need not be an ASCB member or a scientist.

Who is Eligible:

An individual who has demonstrated outstanding national leadership in support of biomedical research. Nominators and self-nominators must be ASCB members. The award winner may, but need not, be a scientist.

How to Apply:

Provide a letter of nomination with a description of the nominee’s advocacy for, and promotion of, scientific research.


The winner receives a certificate and is featured in a video before the ASCB/EMBO Meeting Keynote.


May 15

Past Awardees

2016 – Senator Richard Durbin
2014 – The Honorable Rush Holt
2013 – Jeremy Berg
2012 – Keith Yamamoto
2010 – Tom Pollard
2009 – Larry Goldstein
2008 – Maxine Singer
2007 – Representative Michael N. Castle (R-DE)
2006 – Barbara Forrest and Ken Miller
2005 – Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA)
2004 – Elizabeth Blackburn
2003 – Paul Berg
2002 – Matthew Meselson
2001 – Christopher Reeve
2000 – Donna Shalala, US Health & Human Services Secretary
1999 – Harold Varmus
1998 – J. Michael Bishop
1997 – Representative George Gekas (R-PA)
1996 – Marc Kirschner
1995 – Representative John Porter (R-IL)
1994 – Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA)