For Undergraduate and Graduate Students

The Award was established in memory of longtime Society member and Journal of Cell Biology Editor-in-Chief Norton B. “Bernie” Gilula. The winner will be selected on merit and will receive travel and per diem expenses to the ASCB Annual Meeting. The Award is funded by an annual grant from the Rockefeller University Press.

Who is Eligible:

An outstanding graduate or undergraduate student (at the time of nomination) who has excelled in research or first-year postdocs whose work was performed while a PhD or MD/PhD student.

How to Apply:

The student or advisor should submit a one-page research statement, a CV (including a list of publications, if any), the abstract submitted to the current year’s Annual Meeting, and the advisor’s letter of recommendation. Duplicate applications from graduate students may be submitted for the Gilula and Bernfield Memorial Awards. Nominators and self-nominators must be ASCB members.


The winner is presented a plaque and a ribbon for his/her poster board. Travel expenses and per diem to attend the Annual Meeting are paid. Funded by an annual grant from Rockefeller University Press.


July 15 (Apply here; Questions? email Christina Szalinski)

Past Awardees

2016 – Jason Sheltzer
2015 – Chuankai Zhou
– Honorable mention: Kara McKinley
2014 – Eliah Shamir
2013 – Wenwen Fang
2012 – Gregory Alushin
2011 – Shijing Luo
2010 – Andrew F. Powers
2009 – Rodney E. Infante
2008 – Samuel Bakhoum
2007 – Dawen Cai
2006 – James B. Moseley
2005 – Guangshuo Ou
2004 – Bee Leng Lua
2003 – Yulia Ovechkina
2002 – Li Wang
2001 – Natasha Hussain

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone