The ASCB’s highest honor for science, the E.B. Wilson Medal is presented at the Annual Meeting of the Society for far-reaching contributions to cell biology over a lifetime in science.

Who is Eligible: An individual who has demonstrated significant and far-reaching contributions to cell biology over a lifetime in science. Nominators must be ASCB members, but the candidate need not be.

How to Apply: Provide a letter of nomination, the candidate’s CV, and no fewer than three, and no more than five, letters of support.

Awards: The winner of the ASCB’s highest honor for science gives the E.B. Wilson Lecture at the Annual Meeting and receives the E.B. Wilson Medal. Meeting registration, economy airfare, up to 4 nights hotel, and up to 4 days per diem to attend the Annual Meeting are paid.
Deadline: May 15 (electronic submission only); send email to

Ulrich Hartl and Arthur Horwich have been selected to receive the E.B. Wilson Medal of the American Society for Cell Biology for 2017.

The E.B. Wilson Lecture and Medal Presentation will take place at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia during the 2017 ASCB| EMBO Annual Meeting, December 2-6. The event is scheduled for Tuesday, December 5, at 3:15pm.

E.B. Wilson Medalists

2016 – Mina Bissell
2015 – Elaine V. Fuchs
2014 – William. R. Brinkley, John E. Heuser, and Peter Satir
2013 – John R. Pringle
2012 – Susan L. Lindquist
2011 – Gary G. Borisy, J. Richard McIntosh, and James A. Spudich
2010 – Stuart Kornfeld, James Rothman, and Randy Schekman
2009 – Peter Walter
2008 – Martin Chalfie and Roger Tsien
2007 – Richard O. Hynes and Zena Werb
2006 – Joel Rosenbaum
2005 – Joan Steitz
2004 – Thomas Pollard
2003 – Marc Kirschner
2002 – Avram Hershko and Alexander Varshavsky
2001 – Elizabeth Blackburn
2000 – Walter Neupert and Gottfried Schatz
1999 – Edwin Taylor
1998 – James Darnell and Sheldon Penman
1997 – John C. Gerhart
1996 – Donald D. Brown
1995 – Bruce Nicklas
1994 – Barbara Gibbons and Ian Gibbons
1993 – Hans Ris
1992 – Shinya Inoue
1991 – S. Jonathan Singer
1990 – Morris Karnovsky
1989 – Christian de Duve
1988 – Elizabeth Hay
1987 – Marilyn Farquhar
1986 – Gunter Blobel and D. Sabatini
1985 – H. Swift
1984 – H. Eagle and T. Puck
1983 – Joseph Gall and H. Huxley
1982 – C. Leblond and A. Novikoff
1981 – Daniel Mazia, George Palade, and Keith Porter


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone