San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment

Putting science into the assessment of research

There is a pressing need to improve the ways in which the output of scientific research is evaluated by funding agencies, academic institutions, and other parties. To address this issue, a group of editors and publishers of scholarly journals met during the Annual Meeting of The American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) in San Francisco, CA, on December 16, 2012. The group developed a set of recommendations, referred to as the San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment. We invite interested parties across all scientific disciplines to indicate their support by adding their names to this Declaration. The outputs from scientific research are many and varied, including: research articles reporting new knowledge, data, reagents, and software; intellectual property; and highly trained young scientists. Funding agencies, institutions that employ scientists, and scientists themselves, all have a desire, and need, to assess the quality and impact of scientific outputs. It is thus imperative that scientific output is measured accurately and evaluated wisely.

Read More

An analysis of available data on individual DORA signers as of June 24, 2013, showed that 6% were in the humanities and 94% in scientific disciplines; 46.8% were from Europe, 36.8% from North and Central America, 8.9% from South America, 5.1% from Asia and the Middle East, 1.8% from Australia and New Zealand, and 0.5% from Africa. The distribution of signers by country is shown in the graphic at right (all countries listed have at least one signer).

All Individuals

12221 Individuals

Vikki Janke, , University of Kent

James Naismith, Professor of Chemical Biology, University of St Andrews

Stein Høydalsvik, Head of Library Research and Publishing Support, UiT The Arctic University of Norway

Laurie Goodman, Editor-in-Chief, GigaScience

Aziza Amer, Professor of Pharmacology, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Cairo University

Mohammad Reza Ejtehadi, professor, Sharif University of Technology

Aishwarya Sathyanarayan, , University of Minnesota
View All / Search

All Organizations

736 Organizations

Laurie Goodman, Editor-in-Chief, GigaScience

Alison Fairclough, Head of Research Policy, University of Liverpool

Sally Puzey, Director of Research Strategy and Impact, Aston University

Pål Vegar Storeheier, Research director, University of Tromsø – The Arctic University of Norway

Geoffrey Allen – WRDSB, Canada

Wendy Limbert – Wendy Limbert Consulting

– VITAE Academia Biom?dica Digital, Venezuela

Peter de Peinder – VibSpec

Enrica Rumiato – Veneto Institute of Oncology, IOV-IRCCS

Foppe Vanmil – van Mil Consultancy
View All / Search

Original Signers (Individuals)

  1. Euan Adie, Altmetric LLP
  2. Elizabeth M. Adler Executive Editor, The Journal of General Physiology
  3. Sharon Ahmad Executive Editor, Journal of Cell Science
  4. Kurt H. Albertine Editor-in-Chief, The Anatomical Record
  5. Bruce Alberts Editor-in-Chief, Science
  6. José M. Amigó Professor Emeritus, Unity of Crystallography and Mineralogy, Department of Geology, University of Valencia, Spain
  7. Parker Antin Editor-in Chief, Developmental Dynamics
  8. Simeon Arseniyadis Research Director, CNRS-France
  9. Detlef Axmann Professor, Department of Prosthodontics and Medical Materials, Eberhard-Karls-University, Germany
  10. Tonci Balic-Zunic Associate Professor in Mineralogy and leader of the Crystallography & Mineralogy Group, Natural History Museum, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
View All

Original Signers (Organizations)

  1. Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic (AS CR)
  2. Altmetric LLP
  3. American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  4. American Oil Chemists’ Society
  5. American Society for Cell Biology
  6. American Society of Agronomy
  7. Association for Psychological Science
  8. Austrian Science Fund (FWF)
  9. Biology Open
  10. British Society for Cell Biology
View All
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone