Formerly the Member Memorial Award
For Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows

The Award was established with member donations in memory of Merton Bernfield. The winner will be selected on merit, will be invited to speak in an Annual Meeting Minisymposium, and will receive financial support to attend the meeting.

Who is Eligible:

An outstanding graduate student or postdoctoral fellow (at the time of nomination) who has excelled in research.

How to Apply:

The student or postdoc or his or her advisor should submit a one-page research statement, a CV (including list of publications), a copy of the abstract submitted to the current year’s Annual Meeting, and the advisor’s letter of recommendation. Postdocs may also submit the recommendation of their graduate student advisor. Duplicate applications from graduate students may be submitted for the Gilula and Bernfield Memorial Awards. Nominators and self-nominators must be ASCB members.


The winner is presented a plaque, is given financial support, and will speak at a Minisymposium at the Annual Meeting. Expenses to attend the Annual Meeting are paid.


July 15 (Apply here; Questions?email Christina Szalinski)

Past Awardees

2016 – Kara McKinley
2015 – Shigeki Watanabe
2014 – Prasanna Satpute
2013 – Panteleimon Rompolas
2012 – Ting Chen and Gabriel Lander
2011 – Dylan Tyler Burnette
2010 – Hua Jin
2009 – Chad G. Pearson
2008 – Kenneth Campellone
2007 – Ethan Garner
2006 – Lloyd Trotman
2005 – Stephanie Gupton
2004 – Chun Han
2003 – Erik Dent
2002 – Christina Hull
2001 – Sarah South and James Wohlschlegel


Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someone
ASCB Webmaster

The American Society for Cell Biology is a professional society that was founded in 1960. Its mission statement says: ASCB is an inclusive community of biologists studying the cell, the fundamental unit of life.

Comments are closed for this post.